What is the difference between a sentence for DWAI and DWI?

“I have your back”

"Hiring Adam was the best decision after I was charged with 4 tickets for a DWI. It took Adam just one court appearance to convert all the tickets into a minor DWAI with minimum charges. He always made sure I was relaxed and he would take care of me like a younger brother. I've no words to thank him for what he has done for me!" *****

“Amazing lawyer”

"He is a very professional and well organized individual that will work with you not against you in any situation, and does his best to defend you and your rights in court. I would highly recommend P. Adam Militello for anyone in need of his services he provides." *****

“Mr. Militello is the BEST!”

"Adam is an AWESOME attorney! I never been in trouble with the law and after getting pulled over on the holiday was charged with a DWI. I was scared and terrified. Adam told me, I would be okay and he would fight for me. Which he did. He got my misdemeanor charge down to a traffic infraction of a DWAI. Which is a non criminal charge. I am very thankful and blessed. I'm a healthcare professional and a misdemeanor would have affected my career. He is honest, a good listener, very funny and keeps you updated in regards to your case. He contacts you in reasonable time and works hard on your case. He doesn't mind when you call asking a lot of questions. Also, he is very affordable and will work with. Forget the rest, hire best. Adam is the best." *****

Convictions in New York for DWAI and DWI have some common characteristics.

Typical sanctions for a DWAI in the counties around Rochester:

  1. Fine and surcharge of about $560.00.
  2. 90 day license suspension.
  3. Attendance at one session of a Victim Impact Panel.
  4. Successful completion of the Impaired Driver Program.
  5. Obtain a substance abuse assessment from a certified provider, and follow any recommended treatment.
  6. Jail up to 15 days, but this is extremely rare. 

Typical sanctions for a DWI in the counties around Rochester:

  1. Fine and surcharge of about $900.00.
  2. 6 month license revocation.
  3. Attendance at one session of a Victim Impact Panel.
  4. Successful completion of the Impaired Driver Program.
  5. Obtain a substance abuse assessment from a certified provider, and follow any recommended treatment.
  6. Jail up to 1 year, but this is unheard of for first-time offenders with no accident and no other aggravating circumstances.
  7. Probation for up to 3 years, which is typically imposed if this is a second offense or if there is an accident.
  8. 8 DRC weekends, which is sometimes imposed if your BAC is unusually high or if there is some other aggravating circumstance. (See this page for more information.)
  9. 12 month installation of an Ignition Interlock Device on any vehicle you have titled in your name, registered in your name, or that you operate.
The Militello Law Firm
2480 Browncroft Boulevard
Rochester, New York 14625
Phone: (585) 485-0025 Fax: (585) 286-3128